Dinning Room Tour

Well I feel this post is long overdue we seem to have been working on our dinning room forever every time we would start it there would be something go wrong either in the dinning room itself or with another part of the house. Anyway I’m glad to say it is now finished (other than my picture wall that will grow as & when I find things for it).

IMG_7078
This is our dinning room before we decorated

IMG_0414IMG_2731

When we originally spoke about decorating the dinning room we were thinking because its open plan from the kitchen we would have to stick with the farmhouse/country style  theme that our kitchen has however, the more places we would visit for food and drinks the more we wanted an industrial style dinning room. At New Years we stopped in Chester for a few nights and one lunch time we visited Urbano 32 (they make amazing Pizzas if you are ever near I would definitely  give them a try) the restaurant had exposed brick, logs around the wood-fired pizza oven & a mixture of wood & metal. When we were sat eating our pizza’s we both had the same thought if we are going ahead with the industrial theme this is the way to do it.

The Feature Wall

We have exposed brick in our living room and I love it! I thought there was no way of creating that in the dinning room, I didn’t want the brick style wallpaper but Dave said he would be able to sort it. He found some brick slips from a company on eBay. I am really lucky in that Dave can pretty much turn his hand to any DIY so what ever idea pops into my head he seems to be able to do it.

The Table & Chairs

We were really lucky that the previous owners of the house left us a solid wood farmhouse table & chairs. We didn’t want to get rid of such good quality furniture so we decided to up-cycle it to fit in our new dinning room. Dave removed the top, planed it and  then rubbed it with Rust-Oleum clear finishing wax. We bought some metal legs from eBay and he attached them. With the remainder of the wood from the table he made a bench.  The chairs are from eBay too I’ve said in previous posts how Dave loves an eBay find.

The Light Fitting

The light fitting Dave made from a vintage ladder, some chain and three lights from Ikea. I love it because its one of a kind. Everybody that has seen the dinning room since it has been finished comments on the light fitting, Dave probably won’t agree but it didn’t seem to take him long to put it all together.

IMG_6077

Other Furniture

I have written previous blog posts about both pieces of furniture the shelves & the drawers.

IMG_9399

The Monkey candle stick, candle, rhino candlestick, pineapple ice bucket, frame, experimental cocktail club book, storage box (from TK Maxx), frame (Home Bargains), basket (from Home Sense)

IMG_9922

The lamp was from Aldi, the plant was from B & Q, the frame was from Paperchase.

Finishing Touches

My plan is to just keep adding to the photo wall as and when I find images/prints. Although I love my light fitting it does not produce much light so these wall lights solved that problem (eBay find again). The candle holder is from H&M I have two on my table.

We have two cupboards that have to be in that room so we added old plumbing valve handles from the USA  so that they were in keeping  with the theme of the room. The M is for Mollie from Next (she loves it because it lights up) the plant is from B&Q (I love bringing the outdoors in).

I love, love, love the antelope head from Oliver Bonas. I made the vase myself out of a vase from IKEA and vintage watch cogs (it took ages but I think it was worth it).

The dinning room is now my favourite room we used to eat all our meals at the breakfast bar in the kitchen not any more. I’m super proud of Dave for creating what I had envisioned & putting up with me trying to explain my crazy ideas, I love it.

Jessica x

Leave a comment